Hats off to Hatton Country World!

Roll up roll up, the circus is in town!  And as I have never experienced the big top in my mini 17 months here on planet earth, mommy got online & on the go with tickets for the sunniest day on the weather forecast. 

I had never been to Hatton before so I was super-excited when we arrived and could see all that was going on….. the farmyard animals, the guinea pig village, sandpits, carousel rides, soft play (hell on earth says mommy) and a big top tent.  Yipeee, let’s get going moma!

The Outdoor Adventure Play was wet and windy but hell I didn’t care, I had a JCB to climb and a sandpit as big as my nan’s back garden to plough through!  I am not ashamed to say that trucks are my thing, I love them and Hatton was full of them to climb and have fun on.  There were trampolines to jump on, slides, swings and a whole lot more.  For the bigger kids this must be so much fun and I am sure moms and dads get to have a bit of a rest when they are able to just go play!   I can imagine when the summer arrives and things are more sunny and less soggy it will be even better here.    Things always look better in the sunshine right?  With a spring josh this place will be looking awesome! I defo want to bring G (my best buddy) back here and have some more fun days.

hatton-sandpit

When the rain was just too heavy for mom’s newly straightened hair, we headed into the farmyard to meet the animals.  I LOVED this as I got to get up close and personal with some of my favs; donkeys, sheep, goats and calves.  The guinea pig village was also super cool and I was able to stroke one of these furry little things, the big children were holding them.

Hands freshly washed we headed into what can only be described as a Kid’s Paradise – the indoor soft play areas!  Split into three different ages; Under 2’s (which is great and far superior to the usual boring shapes and coloured mats), 2 – 4year olds which looked pretty cool and then 5 years and above which looked like an I’m a Celebrity kinda TV set.  It was loud and a bit smelly (well think of all those children working up a sweat and running barefoot for hours!!) but I had great fun.  But we had a great time!

When the moma finally managed to pull me from the soft play balls and re-dress me for the arctic conditions outside, we headed up the hill to the big top!  I was hoping for big things from this big top circus……..The good news, I sat still for almost 40 minutes and I didn’t cry at the clown (why would I, he was a squidgy man with big shoes and a red nose who wore a hat like my moma has).  Now as a 17 month old toddler, it doesn’t take too much to impress me, let’s face it I have never before witnessed three men dressed in furry zebra skirts jumping over a huge skipping rope or a man juggling with three huge basket balls!  For me it was awesome!  For moma…. not so much.  But I most certainly will remember my day out at Hatton and we will definitely be returning, although only when the sun decides to come out and stay out!

hatton-circus

Moma says…… A great day out with Baby, a bit too cold and wet to enjoy all the outdoor fun and I do hope they give it a jooosh ready for the summer as we cannot wait to get back there.  The littles loved the circus and at the end of the day, we’re there for them!  I had some pretty muddy Paw Patrol wellies to clean but we both slept well that night!

The Need to Know….Hatton Country World run a number of events throughout the year so check it out on their events page of their website along with a weekly and daily schedule during term time and holidays.  Booking online saves a few pennies, in fact you can indeed purchase a membership (although you would need to visit at least twice a month to get your value for money).  Under 2’s go free and adults can be a little on the pricey side but certainly a great day out with your little people.

Baby About Town Rating…… 8/10

Leave a Reply

